You are hereForums / Club Forums / NSCC News / Easter Monday Beauie Results and Race Report

Easter Monday Beauie Results and Race Report

Arch's picture

By Arch - Posted on 10 April 2015

There was another massive turnout for the annual Beauie Easter Monday crit race, and the weather was very kind with mild conditions after the torrential rain earlier on the long weekend.

A Grade was another smashfest with the field enriched by NRS riders from GPM and Mobius out to give the rest of the field a lesson in pain. As usual there were plenty of breaks early with aggressive riding from Nakajima, Culey, White, Burston and Dinham. The bunch policed all the breaks and no-one got away until later in the race, when Ed White, Sam Burton and Marcus Culey got into the one that mattered and they held the rest of the field at bay to finish in that order. They showed class in working together with positive racing tactics - well done fellas.

B Grade had a big field dominated by NSCC, CCCC and MWCC who were out in force to show some muscle. Early breaks didn't stick as the bunch was riding a very high tempo which made it difficult to get a gap on the field. Mid-way through the race NSCC's Jeff Dhu and a rider each from Manly and the Central Coast jumped away. However the gap was never enough to cause the bunch to give up and eventually they were caught. The bunch sprint finish was marred by a crash 50m out and around 8 riders going down due to a touch of wheels and bars - a reminder to all to hold your line while sprinting. Phil Hay and Andy Helmich from CCCC plus Carmello Gallo from MWCC avoided the spilled riders to take the money.

C Grade was also a big field which stayed together pretty much throughout the race with David Hampton from the Marconi club taking the spoils. Great to see the Marconi club up at Beauie.

D Grade was a strong field with Nandika Samarawickrama showing off his Tour Down Under form to hold off NSCC junior Matt Vassilief and Russell (Burglar) Garstang from CCCC.

Podium details for each grade as follows:

A Grade
1st Ed White GPM
2nd Sam Burston Mobius
3rd Marcus Culey Mobius/NSCC

B Grade
1st Phil Hay CCCC
2nd Andy Helmich CCCC
3rd Carmello Gallo MWCC

C Grade
1st David Hampton Marconi CC
2nd Mark Withford NSCC
3rd Mat Ashton MWCC

D Grade
1st Nandika Samarawickrama NSCC
2nd Matt Vassilief NSCC
3rd Russell Garstang CCCC

Best Mountain Bike